17 septiembre 2009


Students are often confused about some geographical terms about English speaking countries. Let's see if we can sort things out.

The United Kingdom (UK) is a sovereign state located of the northwestern coast of Europe. It includes Great Britain, the northeastern part of Ireland and many small islands. The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy and unitary state consisting of four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.[19] It is governed by a parliamentary system with its seat of government in London, the capital, but with three devolved national administrations in Belfast, Cardiff and Edinburgh, the capitals of Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland respectively.

Sometimes people use the term Great Britain in the same form as United Kingdom but, in fact, there is a difference. The term Great Britain includes: England whose capital is London, Wales whose capital is Cardiff and Scotland whose capital is Edinburgh. Great Britain does not include Northern Ireland.

Let's have a look to these countries flags.

This is The United Kingdom Flag. Blue field with red cross of Saint George (patron saint of England), edged in white overlaid on the diagonal red cross of Saint Patrick (patron saint of Ireland), which is superimposed on the diagonal white cross of Saint Andrew (patron saint of Scotland); correctly known as the Union Flag, but generally called the Union Jack.

Northern Ireland flag. It is known as the Ulster Banner. It has no official status.

England flag. It represents Saint George's Cross.

Scotland Flag. It represents Saint Andrew's Cross.

Wales Flag.

Now try these tests about The United Kingdom Geography.

  1. United Kingdom Geography Test 1.
  2. United Kingdom Geography Test 2.
  3. Parts of the United Kingdom Test 3.
  4. Scotland Test 4.

Webquest: If you don't know the answer of some questions, surf on the internet to know the correct answer. You can explore the links in here.

No hay comentarios: